Playwright Jennifer Fell Hayes Tells How She Came to Write MOTHER’S DAY

“Mother’s Day was inspired by a true story I heard at a dinner party in Yorkshire several years ago. Very touched and struck by the story, I asked the friend who told it if he could possibly put me in touch with the woman it was about. We met for tea and I said I wanted to write a play about her, explaining it would not be a documentary and there’d be a lot of fiction mixed in with the truth. She was very pleased, and became the inspiration on which the main character of Rosemary is based. I later met another woman upon whom the character of Hilda is based. After that, the two women came to lunch and talked while I took notes.
J

Playwright, Jennifer Fell Hayes

“I then had to figure out the shape and arc of the play and where it needed to begin!  The revelatory scene that so moved me when I first heard the story – and is also the kernel of the piece – actually came near the beginning of the play.  Not further in… as I’d originally thought.  That said, the most absolutely anxious part of process was when I finished and had sent a copy of the play to each lady.  I worried they would not like it as I had changed a lot and, of course, invented a lot too.  Not to mention they were not used to reading plays.  This may have been their first, and they each had to read it a couple of times.  But they both loved it!  So I was happy.  And I am now exceedingly happy for this next step of hearing the piece read aloud by a terrific cast at my upcoming 3-Day at WorkShop Theater under the excellent direction of Kathy Gail MacGowan.  Please join me.  See you there!”
 
— Story told by Jennifer Fell Hayes, Playwright, Mother’s Day
Leave a Reply

